Norton 360 Version 5 Detailed User Review & Giveaway–Winners Announced

by Rohit Khurana on March 17, 2011


We all want our computers safe from threats, viruses, identity thefts and other malicious codes giving us a hard time. It’s a good idea to have a reliable security software. In this post, we share with you detailed hands on review of Norton 360 Version 5, which has been released recently. We will also be giving away 5 boxes of Norton 360 each containing 3 Licenses valid for 1 year, sponsored by Symantec India.

The first impression of Norton 360 Version 5 is that it installs very very fast, I was amazed to see that it got installed in just about 2 minutes on my Windows 7 PC. Norton has really done some optimization on even the installation front. Usually the anti-viruses take as long as 5 to 10 minutes to install properly.

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (1)

Secondly, Norton 360 is not just an anti-virus, it does a whole lot more than that. The Norton 360 includes :

  • Online or Internet Security Tool
  • Saves from cyber attacks
  • Prevents Identity Thefts
  • Parental control tool for blocking unwanted websites
  • Scans the search results for spam and unsafe links
  • Tunes the PC for better performance
  • Online backup of 2GB free
  • Included Free phone, email and chat support if something goes wrong with your computer
  • Fights Viruses and Spywares
  • Keeps itself updated via live update
  • Real time virus protection
  • Integrated Firewall
  • Email Scanning, both inbound and outbound

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (2)

After installation, you need to sign up for a Norton online account or register with your existing Norton account. This will help you look at your product details later, get online support easily etc..

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (5)

The interface of the Norton 360 Version 5 is simple, fast and responsive. The settings and options are well laid out in a good logical way. The user interface is divided into

  • PC Security and related tasks
  • Identity Protection
  • Backup
  • PC Tune-up

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (6)

There is also a small gadget in the sidebar which shows the status of the security software all the time for quick and easy access besides the small taskbar icon.

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (7)

We have seen Norton becoming very performance centric, so it does show the performance data of the PC as well as the Norton specific tasks in its interface itself. I don’t feel any slowness on my PC because of Norton 360 except for when I manually run a full system scan. Even during the Full system scan, the PC is fine enough to work.

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (8)

There is small navigation menu links on the top:

  • Tasks
  • Settings
  • Performance
  • Feedback
  • Account
  • Support

The tasks list the basic functionalities like running scans, updates, backups, tune-up tasks etc..

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (9)

The settings menu allows you to make preference changes in anti-virus, firewall, anti-spam, network settings, parental control, identity protection, etc.. There are also some Quick Controls which are very helpful for changing the basic settings in no time.

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (10)

The identity protection feature helps you from not falling in trap of any fake websites with fake certificates. It integrates with your web browser and saves you from password and personal information theft.

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (13)

You can keep a track on your computer usage, Norton calls it the “Online Family” statistics in which you can see the websites visited, alerts generated and search terms used on your computer.

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (14)

The Norton Safe web is also integrated in the Norton 360 which can tells you about the threat levels of a URL. You can enter any URL or website and its checks Norton Database to see if the website is listed dangerous or malicious.


norton-360-version-5-complete-review (15)

The activity map shows the the global cyber attack statistics and most critical threats happening on the Internet.

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (16)

The firewall of Norton 360 can be control from the settings. You can turn it off if you don’t want to use it.

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (17)

The firewall solution of Norton 360 is quite holistic with Traffic rules, Program blocking, etc. features built in.

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (18)

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (19)

Startup Manager helps you reduce the startup tasks right from its simple interface. This will speed up your computer after boot, especially if you don’t have too much RAM at your disposal.

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (23)

The performance monitor shows the detailed graphs of CPU and memory usage of windows tasks as well as the Norton tasks.

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (24)

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (25)

There is one more very interesting feature called the Performance Alert, it will keep a check on any process which might be using too much of Memory or CPU and making your computer slow. You can stop or close it if you are not using it right now to make you PC work faster.

norton-360-version-5-complete-review (26)

I have been using Norton 360 for some days now and I am finding it very useful. There is a lot more than what I have shared above, but I have covered most of the important stuff.

Norton 360 Version 5.0 Giveaway

We are giving away 5 licenses of Norton 360 version 5 sponsored by Norton India. This product can be directly purchased from Norton India Website also. To participate in this giveaway, you need to follow these below steps:

  1. Tell us by a comment below “What do you like most about Norton 360? Is there any additional feature you would like to be included?”
  2. Follow @troublefixers on twitter OR Become a Fan of TroubleFixers on Facebook
  3. Tweet the following text from your twitter account OR Share this text on Facebook – “Norton 360 Version 5 Giveaway – Win Free Licenses (via @troublefixers ) –


1. This giveaway is available for people living within India only. As we have boxed products which will be sent via snail mail and can be distributed inside India only as per the product license restrictions.

2. The giveaway will be open until 31st of March 2011. At the end of the giveaway, 5 winners will be randomly selected from among the participants.

3. Licenses will be shipped in boxes provided by Norton after the announcement of results, The list of winners will be declared at the end of this article only.

Updated 4 April 2011 – Winners Announced

We have selected 5 winners out of 46 valid participants using a free online list randomizing service from, below are the snapshots of the same:


Above is the list of valid participants. Below is the randomized list, top 5 are the winners:

  1. krazyguy
  2. stylish
  3. kondalrao
  4. karthik
  5. venkat


We will get in touch with the winners via email to get their shipping address. We will send the boxes containing licenses via speed post after we get the shipping address from all the winners. If you are a winner and don’t receive our email, please check your email spam folder. If you don’t have our email there, please write to us at admin[at]troublefixers[dot]com.

Congratulations to winners ! Thanks to rest of the participants for participating, please don’t be disappointed, we keep coming up with useful giveaways from time to time, so better luck next time.

If you like this article or this article helped you, you can +1 to recommend this article on google plus.

You can follow us on Twitter or join our Facebook Fan Page. If you have a question to ask us, submit your question at Answers By Trouble Fixers.

Looking for something else? Search here :

{ 52 comments… read them below or add one }

Gautam Hans March 17, 2011 at 5:41 pm

I like Norton Antivirus because of its marvelous protection. And, Yes! It don’t slow my PC. I like all features but I miss a feature that is very important for me. I use some virus/trojans containing(false positive) programs with using sandbox mode of Avast 6! This feature is a big help for me. But I want that feature in Norton too. So, I can use it as my primary security suite. Otherwise it is good.

Ankit March 17, 2011 at 7:21 pm


i have completed all your requests.
i would like to have one as i am affected by virus which is sending huge amount of request to youtube which in turn asking me to write captcha every time.

hope i get it and solve my problem.

one question – do we have to pay for product directly or indirectly??? (any delivery charges ,etc???are there any conditions applied??

Rohit March 18, 2011 at 8:27 am

There are no charges, we pay for the delivery.

Sharath BS March 17, 2011 at 7:37 pm

Norton is the best security suite available. I have used version 4.0 and it was pretty impressive. The file insight is very useful as some dll files get downloaded automatically while browsing some sites. It gives a good rating of those files. the performance monitor is the best part. It shows a popup when some program takes up excess memory or cpu usage. One feature I would have liked is Cloud based protection like some cloud antivirus programs which donot require to download any update as they use cloud scanning.
Twitter update:

princeaniket March 17, 2011 at 7:59 pm

Thanks for the Giveaway dear…
Please Don’t count me in..
i have this Software provided by you people in your Previous Giveaway…
Keep doing good work….
like the Review too..
Happy Hoil wishes!!! :)

Shared here :

Rahul Sharma March 17, 2011 at 8:12 pm

Norton 360 Version 5 is a very useful app, It comes with Integrated Firewall and it Tunes the PC for better usage which i liked in it :)

utkarsh March 17, 2011 at 9:15 pm

the security features are all packed in one software with some brilliant visuals…….
what more can u ask ????????

Vivek March 17, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Just love the Norton, and how it works with small memory and CPU usage, and most important is inappropriate site blocking and phishing protection, so i can bank and shop online easily..!!

Shared on twitter and facebook



Rohan March 17, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Thank you for the great giveaway again !

What do you like most about Norton 360? Is there any additional feature you would like to be included?”

well , so many reasons for it . Norton is the best security suite. Norton installation is easy,it can easily work with end user,auto protect technology, cloud scanner technology,facebook wall scanner,interface is awesome,Norton safeweb these are the very best features.

i really like insight feature which help me eliminate suspicious files using the cloud.

Also i would like to see sandboxing feature in next giveaways .

i have complete the steps, followed you on twitter and tweet as :!/ronalddig/status/48418837477076992

thank you

Tanjum March 17, 2011 at 9:55 pm

Wow !! again norton give away, last time cudn’t win, hoping this time…!! Hurray….!!
Norton is the best security suite i have ever used and trialed… I love it’s interface and it’s ease of user interface so that i can manage my security easily, and moreover there is a tool for facebook wall scan, so i am safe @ social..!!

Shared on facebook…

Alok Yadav March 17, 2011 at 10:11 pm

Norton has always been my fav. security suite, but have not used it, not more than 30 days, i use free security software available, particularly what i like most of Norton is that it doesn’t slow down my PC. And it’s firewall configuration is so simple that i can easily manage what application to grant access internet and not grant access.. User interface is clean, and computer management like disk cleanup and online backup is awesome..!! Hoping to win ….!! .


Abhishek Nair March 17, 2011 at 10:20 pm

The features I liked most about Norton 360 is its extremely simple and user friendly interface coupled with one of the best and complete (360) anti-virus detection engine.
By the way, here’s my tweet:!/abkTech/status/48425818686369793
Hope I win this awesome giveaway!

ibheck March 18, 2011 at 5:12 am

great giveaway, I unfortunately can not participate
I’m waiting for the next great giveaway

kweeny March 18, 2011 at 9:46 am

Thanks a ton for this generous giveaway of Norton 360. Apart from being one of the best security suites available currently, it delivers excellent protection without system slowing down, with a simple yet detailed user friendly interface. The PC Tuneup feature is also a hit and shows details of all thats running and can be set to ones needs.
The only addition of a sandbox feature in my opinion would enhance Norton 360, but in its present form its great as is.!/kweeny66/status/48591630218964992

Satyajit March 18, 2011 at 2:04 pm

Simply I’m a fan of Norton products.Last year I did manage 2 6months licenses of NIS 2010 but this year I find it difficult to get a single one.Suddenly I’ve come across this site.NIS consists of one of the best antivirus engine and firewall.In addition to that Norton 360 includes tuneup.I specially like manually monitoring the firewall setting i.e. allowing a programme to access the net.I’ve used trial version of KIS and others but I do not feel at home( like Norton).So it goes without saying if I’m one of the luckiest to have a Norton 360 license I’ll be grateful as well as gleeful.

Elvis March 18, 2011 at 5:34 pm

I like NORTON because first of all, it provides extreme high level of security and keeps completely safe and away from any kind of viruses.malwares,worms,etc. either old ones or the most recent ones. its best in detecting 0 day malwares .

Norton 360 is very fast & light…it’s insight technology is amazing…cpu usage while scanning is minimum…good detection rates are there

moreover backup feature would help me to save my imp data over the secure norton servers too :)

Already Following you on twitter :

shared as :!/elvisparkinson/status/48714954395754496
hope to be lucky .

Flash March 18, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Norton has been a name to reckon in the field of Anti virus products and I have been using and recommending it to my friends. I hope the present product-Norton 360 Version 5.0 will live up to the benchmark set by the organisation for itself.

bala March 18, 2011 at 9:04 pm

the best feature of norton is download insight,sonar. i would like the sandboxing feature incorporated

Linu George March 18, 2011 at 9:13 pm

Norton 360 Version 5 Giveaway – Win Free Licenses (via @troublefixers ) –

I like the all in one features that it has instead of shopping around for different products with these features (firewall, identity theft, anti-virus, antispyware), I would like to see more online storage space instead of a measly 2GB.. Plus the backup features needs to be faster and more robust. Also a visualization feature would be nice to have. Regards to all..

Linu George March 18, 2011 at 9:15 pm!/aviator365/status/48769191460868096

I like the all in one features that it has instead of shopping around for different products with these features (firewall, identity theft, anti-virus, antispyware), I would like to see more online storage space instead of a measly 2GB.. Plus the backup features needs to be faster and more robust. Also a visualization feature would be nice to have. Regards to all..

Ashwin March 18, 2011 at 9:18 pm

Nice giveaway :)

Shared it on twitter!/Im_Ashwin/status/48772689355218944

Count me in

Moni mona March 18, 2011 at 10:27 pm

360 is a complete suite,which provides for an optimized solution to your security cum maintainance needs.It has a fairly light imprint,and its security detailing is one of the best in the industry.
I have used 360 even since its inception,and would love to continue using it.Perhaps it would be better if it gave the user more controls over its memory footprint.That being said,it’s probably the best suite out there.

Funskey March 18, 2011 at 10:33 pm

Thanks for the giveaway. The best feature I like about Norton besides its high quality antivirus engine and firewall is Norton Online Family. In this day and age its important to have some form of parental control installed on your pc and if it comes included with your security suite thats just perfect. One thing I will want in norton 360 is some feature like Returnil to turn on a virtual system at the click of a button, to run windows in virtual mode so that whatever changes are made to the system are not reflected till this mode is turned off. This will go perfectly with an internet security suite.
I have become a fan of TroubleFixers on Facebook and shared the above statement on my facebook profile. Hope I win

Siddharth Sk March 19, 2011 at 12:00 am

Thanks for sharing this Wonderful Giveaway .I like Norton products so much .They have made a lot of changes to their product in the past 2 years and i like the changes.It has new and easy interface,God detection rate,utilize less system resources and it also has tools for system optimization.I want it on my PC.Please count me in.

I have shared this post over Facebook,link is

I have also tweeted this post over Twitter,link is!/siddxxxx/status/48813150195302400

Hope i win one of the license.

Arild March 19, 2011 at 1:57 am

Norton has a very long experience in making a successful AV program. I trust them !

kasu March 19, 2011 at 2:13 pm

I really love super fast installation feature of norton, but most of the softwares takes lot of time to install.!/kasukumar/status/49027710374248448

techrocker March 19, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Identity protection is the best feature.

following and tweeted.!/techrocker240/status/49073417621737472


karthik March 20, 2011 at 7:01 am

Norton 360 is the best security suite for detecting viruses as well as firewall is also good.


count me.

Bibek Bhowal March 20, 2011 at 7:52 pm

superb protection which is better then any other product, along with user friendly GUI and it doesn’t slows down PC at all.
Also system optimization,Identity protection and online storage space of GB are very useful for me.

I have followed TroubleFixers in twitter and liked it on facebook and also twitted and shared that statement on facebook.

Bibek Bhowal March 20, 2011 at 7:56 pm

I love Norton because it provides superb protection, which is better then any other product, along with user friendly GUI and it doesn’t slows down PC at all.
Also system optimization,Identity protection and online storage space of GB are very useful for me.

I have followed TroubleFixers in twitter and liked it on facebook and also twitted and shared that statement on facebook.

venkat March 20, 2011 at 9:36 pm

I’ve never won norton 360 in the previous giveaway…

Hope the best this time!!
I like the feature of showing the map which gives the cyber crime across the world.!/venkatn59/status/49501545548619776

suma March 21, 2011 at 7:26 am

i like all norton products because it stands no.1 in providing greater security.!/RAOSUMA/status/49649777419370496


kalyani March 21, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Following @troublefixers.

shared the contest in twitter.!/kalyaniv20/status/49807916982730752

The best feature i recognized here is the displaying the cpu usage of each program and has very good detection machanism of viruses.

thanks for offering.

urnapa March 21, 2011 at 9:15 pm

already following.


i like the backup feature.

roxy March 23, 2011 at 12:19 pm

wow amazing

this time norton 360 will beat all other antivirus and its coming with amazing mindblowing futures

i will sure advise to everyone to use it forever >>>>>

ill like startup manager and startup task bar gadget sooo much and easiest to use for normal computer user too advance >>

stylish March 23, 2011 at 2:18 pm

I like features of fast scanning and also already scanned files will scanned very speed with the next time scan.!/stylishnstar/status/50478210055553024

Hope to get 1.

Binod Sahoo March 23, 2011 at 3:25 pm

I like it very much.It’s performance is very good & the main good things of this anti-virus is ,taking less time to install & It doesn’t slow down PCs.Many features are integrated with Norton 360 & these are very useful things.At last i will say one thing it’s protection is very high than others.

krazyguy March 24, 2011 at 5:39 am

woooow!!!! wonderful giveaway….

I’m the fan of norton, it has almost all are best features. when coming to my opinion, i like the security it provided to shop online.!/krazyguy360/status/50710210557382656

count me…………….

Raj March 24, 2011 at 4:02 pm

Always like the Security features of Norton. The antivirus and the firewall is the best among all the others. The Tuneup feature is the added advantage. All in all its a great product to have for my pc.
I am already a fan on facebook and heres the link to the facebook share

Thanks for this great giveaway. Hope to win a license :)

kondalrao March 24, 2011 at 4:49 pm


i would like to win this as this gives best alround protection to my lap.!/kondalrao000/status/50875928921911296

as to conclude,it has all the necessary features needed to secure against most thereats…

uandme March 26, 2011 at 6:50 am

great contest to participate/////

Its always special for me in case of norton giveaway.!/uandme_forever/status/51452176794517504

Almost all features are pretty good than most traditonal antivirus.


Samir March 26, 2011 at 8:56 am

I’m an office employee and last year I bought Kaspersky but my license expired 2 months ago.Recently I’m using Norton 3 months OEM copy and to be frank it’s way ahead of all other security software.It’s SONAR,Insight protection and firewall managing are great.Norton 360 comes with extra feature like tuneup etc. which will be a helpful tool for me.So please count me!!!
(Also I love this site and have just enrolled my e-mil id to get latest updates)

prasad March 27, 2011 at 7:54 am

At first, thanks for offering such a fantastic security software.

Norton is beats all the softwares available in the market, as it has all the features that required to protect pc, laptop..

It has backup features which is a very good one.!/prasad_ngm/status/51831015387312129

count me.

kavya March 28, 2011 at 5:24 am


The best feature is file insight.

count me.

mylife March 29, 2011 at 8:04 am

I’m very much happy to here such a good contest, for winning the norton 360.!/loveis_mylife/status/52557618539003904

i like norton, i’ve used the promo offer that’s why i impressed with this.

love to win…

nvs1110 March 30, 2011 at 7:17 am

i like facebook wall scan feature.

following & tweeted.!/nvs_1110/status/52909493452943360


S.Palanichamy March 30, 2011 at 10:03 pm

I like the feature of not eating too much into memory and Norton is very sleek both in appearance and job compared to other avs. I liked it thro’ Please count me for the giveaway.

S.Palanichamy March 30, 2011 at 10:06 pm
mrperfect March 31, 2011 at 5:09 am

norton is the best one to have in your pc.

following and tweeted.

it is very fast in detection of viruses as well as installation, one don’t need to wait longer time for the installation.

thank’s alot for this giveaway.

count me toooooo

lovely vn March 31, 2011 at 11:43 am


It has the features like online storage capacity upto 2 gb, showing the cpu performance of various running programs in pc, facebook scanning, and so on……


itsme March 31, 2011 at 5:50 pm

i’m following you and shared the link given above.!/itsme_vs/status/53431034330611713

count me.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post:

© TroubleFixers – All about fixing computer troubles2007-2016 . All Rights Reserved.