Facebook is no doubt one of the best and most popular social network out there, but facebook user interface keeps on changing because of which some of the facebook users gets annoyed very much, one such feature is facebook timeline which has been started rolling out for facebook users, one can go and activate facebook timeline feature from this page. But there are many users who activated the facebook timeline but now they want the old facebook profile layout back and wants to deactivate the facebook timeline.
One the bad thing about activating facebook timeline feature is “Once you click Get Timeline,you will have seven days to review everything that appears on your timeline before anyone else can see it.If you choose, you can publish your timeline right away. If you decide to wait, your timeline will go live automatically after seven days. Your timeline will replace your profile.”
Please Note: Eventually everyone on Facebook will be rolled over to timeline.
For Those Who Got The Facebook Timeline Feature Through Developer App Method
In case you got the facebook timeline feature activated because you are developer for facebook apps or you became a fake developer by creating one developer app and you got the access the facebook, you can read about this method here
Now in order to deactivate the facebook timeline feature, you can follow this guide or watch the video below.
In case you are not a facebook developer neither fake and nor genuine one, then you should follow the methods given below.
Disable Facebook Timeline and Revert To Old Facebook Profile Design
Method 1: By Changing The User Agent
One way to get the old facebook profile both for your own facebook profile and also for your friends on facebook who have got the facebook timeline feature activated can be done by changing the user agent. Now the hack is if you visit a Facebook Timeline page, with a browser that identifies itself as "Internet Explorer 7", you will be shown the old style profile page for that person, instead of their Timeline page. This is because Facebook haven’t yet created a version of Timeline that works with IE7.
So, how does it work? When you visit a website, your web browser sends it an identification code, known as the "User Agent", which lets the site know what web browser you are using. This method for disabling timeline works by changing your current browser’s "User Agent" to IE7 and tricking Facebook into showing you the old style profile pages. You read this detailed guide on how to prevent facebook timeline to load for different browsers like Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera and Internet Explorer
Method 2: By Installing Timeline Remove Extension Which Stops Facebook Timeline To Load
2.a Timeline Remove is one such extension which comes for google chrome, firefox and internet explorer stops facebook timeline to load once you install this extension in the respective browsers. This extension is not yet out for safari browser as developer is currently developing the extension for safari mac browser.
Before Installing This Extension – Timeline Exist
After Installing This Extension – Timeline Disappears
Please Note: This extension disables only the display of the new facebook timeline. This does not mean that your friends will not see your timeline. You can disable the new profile for all and go back.
2.b Social Fixer is another extension which could help you get rid of many facebook annoyances on facebook by eliminating annoyances and adding lots of great enhancements and functionality. It runs in most browsers and installs in just a minute. This extension again can remove facebook timeline from your facebook profile. It comes for all almost all the popular browsers but it does not support in internet explorer.
Once you have installed the extension, go to facebook and you will see the social fixer icon on the left of your profile picture on the top bar on facebook, click that and under display >> timeline check the following options.
Or else you can see the video below which explains how does this extension works to disable the timeline on facebook.
Please Note: After some recent changes to Facebook, some features are not working for some users. Known issues are: Themes, the Setup Wizard, some Chat features, and the "Widescreen" option.
Deactivating Facebook Account Temporarily Then Activating It Back
Some of the users discovered that deactivating account on facebook for some time, around 10 minutes and activating it again can also work as once you activate the facebook profile again you will see the facebook old profile design, you can read our guide on to temporarily disable facebook account – This tip [ Via ToThePC ]